Electrician Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am a consultant working on a project to analyze the tool industry. I was wondering where electricians regularly buy tools, whether at the big boxes, online or at other specialty stores. I would appreciate it if you could tell which specialty stores :)

Also, I am curious is electricians use levels and if so are there preferred brands?

Any insight you provide is greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Aviva

·
Senior Moment
385 Posts
Klein Tools, Knipex, anywhere.
Specialty tools (meters, test equipment) @ specialty stores, sometimes online.
Torpedo levels that are quality American made and utilize rare-earth magnets for a strong hold when hanging on a conduit run.
House-branded lines (Commercial Electric, Kobalt) are usually cheap imported Big Box junk made for homeowner's occasional use.

·
Estwing magic
27,268 Posts
It's a traditional industry and we like our traditional manufacturers. We don't buy hand tools from a wire manufacturer and don't buy meters from a manufacturer who makes knockout cutters. We go for the guys who specialize and are good at what they do. I know some people like Milwaukee hand tools but I consider them a power tool manufacturer. You can't be all things to all people.

I can't understand manufacturers who have developed a reputation over decades who then destroy it by rebranding Chinese junk. Any idiot in business knows that a good reputation is your greatest asset.

I will buy from a box store if it is the tool I want. Quality supersedes price. I usually buy at the store because when I want it, I want it now. Maybe it's just me but I don't want to wait for delivery from an online store.

·
Estwing magic
27,268 Posts