Electrician Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
Had a question with a problem I am having in our Mill. Currently in all my buckets I am reading a line to line voltage of 595 VAC. The issue I have is with my Line to Ground voltage.
L1 - G -> 409VAC
L2 - G -> 235VAC
L3 - G -> 409VAC

Anyone have an idea on what I should be looking for?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are no issues in the MCC, I just noticed this when I was testing to see if there was a fuse blown in the circuit. When I noticed this, I tested the other some other buckets and they all read the same.

·
Registered
2,899 Posts
Shorted wire...
Without more information, that would be my best guess...
What is your system voltage? Solid grounded neutral or impedance ground?
Any faults showing up? Where are you measuring?
Are you an electrician?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes I am an electrician. I am taking measurements from the top of the fuses on individual buckets. Not showing any faults. Line voltage is 2300 stepped down to 600 in our MCC. The neutral is solid ground from what I can see on the prints.

·
Registered
2,655 Posts
600 volts on 3 phase is meant to be 347 to ground. 347 x 3 = 1041
409 + 235 + 409 = 1053

That to me looks like the center point of the transformer (if it has one) is not tied to ground.

That may be total wrong but i would start by checking the transformer label rather than the prints.

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Are you getting those readings at the bus? Check the xfmr. ground. Could also be a motor on that MCC going bad. If you can, try turning everything off, one at a time until it clears.

Reactions: glen1971

·
1,469 Posts