Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been doing industrial automation control work for over 35 years. I see many levels of craftsmanship. More often than not as of late there is an attitude of if it works ship it. Being a self-employed contractor leaves me no choice but to button my lip and let it slide (unless it’s an obvious you gotta fix that situation). Some of the stuff is so simple to do it right - why wouldn’t you do it right?! Case in point: cutting terminal jumper bars. I’m forced use jumper bars that need to be cut to length (because that’s what the company uses). I use my cable cutters to do this with good results - nice straight cuts. Others use side cutters or linesmen pliers on a 45deg cut.
What is your opinion on levels of craftsmanship these days? I know this a small detail in a panel, but it’s only one detail. There is many more I could mention. Personally I’d rather have someone say that’s a great panel versus I hope I never have to work on that thing.
Do the best you can do and learn from others along the way. We’re never to old to learn a better way.

White Light Product Architecture Office equipment

Product Grille Electrical wiring Audio equipment Cable

·
Registered
2,485 Posts
In my normal day to day stuff I use single jumpers for safety circuits. And if I make a terminal block buss using jumpers, I just use full bars if room permits. Sometimes cut one end with a straight cut using dikes if need be.

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,485 Posts
I'm at the mercy of what's here already, that's been messed with by countless individuals before me. Much of it is a dog's breakfast.

Most new stuff gets put in by a contractor. Great big new control boxes (very neat inside tho) taking up space we don't have.

One of the panels I have my nose in regularly...
View attachment 167608
I'll try to remember to take pictures of the death traps at my work one day..

·
Registered