Electrician Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been with the same company for 3.5 years. I am now a 5th term apprentice (have a bit over 8000 hours). We currently have no journeyman (other than the boss man) and I am the most senior employee. I often get sent out to service calls and sometimes even in charge of entire projects. I am wondering if it is common for senior apprentices to be completely unsupervised or if I am one of a few being sent to calls as what the clients think is a fully licensed electrician? Oh and more often than not I am supervising other apprentices/helpers. I know it's not legit according to the law...

·
Registered
160 Posts
Yes it is common. 5th year are discount jmen and some companies will milk that. Working with out supervision and running projects are diff stories though.

If I had a dollar from every helper, apprentice, that said they ran work I could I could retire.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Haha yeah, It's been going this way for quite some time. I swear I have done 2/3 of my apprenticeship working under other apprentices.

·
AKA Luketrician
584 Posts
Think that is why the NJATCs will still keep taking applicants, if with people wasting away on the books...to feed the machine if you will. It is definitely a system that the shops use.

·
Senile Member
30,710 Posts
Here is an idea, instead of more or less complaining about it , take advantage of the incredible opportunity you have been given to study up like a Bob Badger JR. on your codes and wiring methods and rise to the challenge you are given. You will be a outstanding Jman when you get your hours if you do , and will end up being the go to guy on every project.

·
AKA Luketrician
584 Posts