Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
If you are babysitting a company due to their now lack of licensing from a death, divorce, etc.... and it should be temp, will you still be able to do your own stuff either officially or not officially (insurance, permit wise, etc...)?

Before I passed my state test, I had to have a backup plan in case my dad reached the end of the rainbow. I was looking for someone to be able to deal with the permits, etc....

If they instead want to keep you or join with you and be active that is a different story.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
electricmanscott said:
Hypothetical situation. :whistling2: I have a master license. Company does not but needs one. Aside from other skills, abilities, and job functions, what do you think reasonable compensation would be if hired as an employee?
That's a tough one to assign a number to. Are you going to manage , quote jobs ,ect.
There in a tight spot if they don't have a master.
Percentage if said job profits maybe!!

·
Banned
1,246 Posts
How does your state law work? In mine, my license can only be associated with 1 business. So if I was going to use my license for another company, they would have to compensate me at least what I was making at that time or what I felt I would be reasonably making the next year.

That's not counting the salary I would expect for whatever work (if any) I was to do for the company.

I know employees of companies who use their license for only $5-10K extra per year. That's not worth it, you can use your license to make more money doing a few Saturday sidejob service changes.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
Hypothetical situation. :whistling2: I have a master license. Company does not but needs one. Aside from other skills, abilities, and job functions, what do you think reasonable compensation would be if hired as an employee?
If you become the master for 'Bill's Electric' you have to have the board change the name on your license and pay the fee.