Electrician Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I apologize if I'm breaking protocol but I'm a newbie and can't post yet so I figured this might be a good place to post this question as a reply. I'm studying for my Masters Exam and just when I though I had it licked I was humbled. Just to be clear, I'm using my Ugly's book as a refrence for this formula but keep getting an alternate and incorrect answer! Appriciate the help in advance!

Question: The voltage drop on a #10 AWG solid THHN uncoated copper conductor on a 120v circuit is 85' long and connected to a 2HP single phase motor is ?

When I use the 2K x L x I / Cm= VD formula I come up with 5.06v (INCORRECT)

The testing software has it simply at VD= I x R which gives me the correct answer of 4.94v

This simple formula (not listed in Uglys) is working and the other isn't. WHat am I not seeing here?!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here is my math: 2 x 12.9(K)= 25.8 x 85' x 24 amps= 52632 / 10380= 5.07 amps

If I use 170' in the above equation I come up with 10.14 amps. (way off the mark)

My understanding was that the 2K part of the formula means you don't have to double the conductor length when working the equation?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If I do it the long way: 1.21/1000 x 170' x 24 amps= 4.9 (correct) however I'm still baffled as to what I'm doing wrong when following the classic formula laid out in Uglys.

·
Super Moderator
21,906 Posts
VD= I x R----- nope

Voltage = I x R

·
Super Moderator
21,906 Posts
Here is my math: 2 x 12.9(K)= 25.8 x 85' x 24 amps= 52632 / 10380= 5.07 amps

If I use 170' in the above equation I come up with 10.14 amps. (way off the mark)

My understanding was that the 2K part of the formula means you don't have to double the conductor length when working the equation?
That is correct the 2 before the K is doubling the length. K is a constant which is different for copper or aluminum.

·