Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Informal poll...who out there has gotten away from the gold wedding band while working?

Not wear one?
Gone silicone?
Ceramic?
Carbon fiber?

I want to make the switch...just taking my gold band off for now, but, don't see any that I really like.

·
Registered
683 Posts
I don't wear mine ever. Camt get used to it even on weekends. Here's a funny story though, when we were engaged we went wedding band shopping. I told the salesman I was an electrician so I couldn't wear a ring at work. He said "I have the perfect ring for you, it's nonconductive". I asked what it was made of, he said tungsten. "Its 100% nonconductive". I said you are 100% incorrect. I nearly died of laughter.

·
Big nosed attic troll
7,567 Posts
I don't wear mine ever. Camt get used to it even on weekends. Here's a funny story though, when we were engaged we went wedding band shopping. I told the salesman I was an electrician so I couldn't wear a ring at work. He said "I have the perfect ring for you, it's nonconductive". I asked what it was made of, he said tungsten. "Its 100% nonconductive". I said you are 100% incorrect. I nearly died of laughter.
Happened to a guy I know. Hurt like hell when he got hit too!

Sometimes if we're on vacation, I'll bring my ring. I still haven't worn it in years.

·
Big nosed attic troll
7,567 Posts
It tickled. Mainly because that artist likes to dig in too deep so it lasts longer. The guy who did my other knuckles however.... Felt fine.

·
Watt Pusher
2,511 Posts
I wear a ceramic one with walnut burl inlay. I take it off if I'm doing much of anything more than paperwork or minor troubleshooting/investigation, though. Not just because of the dangers, but because I don't want to damage it! It's got scratches all over it already. I also have a cheapy wood one but I often forget to change over. So my ceramic one spends much of its time in a pocket in my tool bag.

·