Electrician Talk banner

What can I expect if new to industrial maintenance?

4K views 14 replies 14 participants last post by  Big John 
#1 ·
Hello,

I previously worked in Electrical Construction with two years of experience. I was a helper doing basic tasks like digging trenches, installing lights, and pulling wire for the journeyman. I decided to go to a technical college and I am a few courses away from a two year degree in Electrical/Electronics Technology.

I have never worked in industrial maintenance before. I was hoping someone could tell me what a new hire's initial tasks might be.

I am mainly trying to figure out if I will be provided with PPE such as an arc flash suit. To be honest I am trying to understand if, initially, I'll be assigned a task that requires an arc flash suit. Have any of you ever supervised a recent trade school/technical college trainee?

What about troubleshooting? Do recent trade school persons get to work through 480V Branch wiring with a wiggy...or use a megger as part of inspecting a motor?

I'm currently collecting books such as the 2014 NEC, Motor Maintenance, and transformer applications...there are things they can show me beyond what I learned in class. Also, I want to learn as much as I can to increase my chances of being promoted as soon as possible to the tasks I mentioned above because I am concerned that new people who fail to do so get laid off. ie move up or get out...

For what it's worth...there was this guy who got a position as co-op at the local utility...and he didn't get hired on permanently...and I think it was because he was way too optimistic (sunny and happy) around folks that wear a perpetual face expression of having seen some horrible tragedies...or at least worried about them happening to them or those who they are responsible for.

Thanks,

theForce

See less See more
#4 ·
Hello,