Electrician Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Electrical Contractor
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm an electrical contractor from Toronto, Ontario. I've been following this forum for a while now, then decided to register and finally got to the point of introducing myself. So here I am, any questions?

Cheers,
aes_sparky

·
evil bastard
15,771 Posts
Hello everyone,

I'm an electrical contractor from Toronto, Ontario. I've been following this forum for a while now, then decided to register and finally got to the point of introducing myself. So here I am, any questions?

Cheers,
aes_sparky

ok, I'll bite,,,,why do Canadians pronounce ABOUT,,,,like it sounds like ABOOT?

·
Electrical Contractor
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok, I'll bite,,,,why do Canadians pronounce ABOUT,,,,like it sounds like ABOOT?
The question itself is worded improperly. It should be:
Why is when we say AboUt Americans hear AboOt?
Is there a difference in air thickness on that side of the border so the sound waves transmit differently?

·
evil bastard
15,771 Posts
The question itself is worded improperly. It should be:
Why is when we say AboUt Americans hear AboOt?
Is there a difference in air thickness on that side of the border so the sound waves transmit differently?

So your implying that when you say,,,,"tie a boot",,,,,and then say "fly about",,,,that you actually make a different sound? I can't hear it (from most canadians)

·
R.I.P. 2014
4,722 Posts
And here I figured it was from a heavy Scottish influence.

·
Premium Member
20,984 Posts
That's about as bad as an english lady that called a while back to get on the "shed-yule". I said, "hang on, while I check my Sked-jill..."

·
Electrical Contractor
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8